friends, chandler bing, matthew perry

The one where we say goodbye too soon

The world lost a friend today. A friend who was with us through the good and bad times, the ups and downs, throughout the teenage years and the adult years as they are now. The world lost Matthew Perry today, and overestimating his impact on the world would still be doing far too little. Perry, and his embodiment of Chandler Bing impacted millions – I am just one amongst them. 

Friends made many lives, saved many of them – including that of Matthew Perry. Seasoned fans of Friends are aware of the struggles he met off-screen, noticeable on-screen between seasons as well, with his fluctuating weight gain and such. What’s redeemable, what made Perry one in a million is his perseverance and commitment to a series he never gave up on, and instead, was one who made it what it is today, what is watched on repeat, one, two, ten, a hundred times by many, including me. Perry was the mastermind behind many of the jokes we loved on the series, the skits, the moments that stayed with us, those that always warrant a laugh, regardless of repetition. 

Arguably, Matthew Perry, and in essence, Chandler Bing, made Friends what it was. One cannot picture the series without him, his character, his humour, his relationships and his role. Ask an avid watcher of Friends and its Chandler Bing who they would name as their favourite character; ask many self-proclaimed funny men, women, who they pay homage to for their personalities, their humour, and you’ll hear them say Chandler Bing without hesitation. 

I first watched Friends when I was in university, one amongst dozens of other TV series I utilised to keep me busy and alone, for the first time, in my dorm room. It quickly became a series I would continuously marathon on the side, for lighter viewing. This was 11 years ago, and since then, Friends, and what Perry brought to his role, would play in the background in the home I’d made for myself. As life grew uneasy, Friends was a constant – times which, I’m sure you could relate, other TV series, both old and new, would feel too heavy, and I would return back to Friends. Every lunch, dinner meal I’ve had at home, or with friends at their homes, were accompanied by Chandler’s humour. 

Over the years, without noticing, I’d quietly been equipping my home and possessions with ones that were Friends-themed. From laptop stickers, fruit bowls, keychains, the keyholder at the entrance of my home in the shape of the infamous purple door, even my 30th birthday cake not two months ago. I’d somehow surrounded myself with gentle reminders of the series – not because they were aesthetically pleasing, necessarily, but because they brought – bring – joy.

Chandler Bing brought us all joy; Matthew Perry was joy.

The world, the millions of lives Perry impacted for the better, every day, at every age, at every stage – mourn today for him. Today, and for every rewatch of Friends we have, and will carry with us.

Rest in peace, Matthew Perry.

Leave a comment